This is a surprisingly practical setup. In this shot (taken with my iPad, because using the phone would have required a mirror) I am on a conference call while also reviewing some slides in PowerPoint. The AirPods mean I don’t get tangled up in wires, and the little stand means I have my hands free to drink coffee or whatever.

It’s not quite as good as doing it all on the iPad’s big screen, but the phone does get connectivity absolutely everywhere, and it’s much less of A Thing to set up in a café than an iPad, let alone a MacBook. I got a wifi only iPad, because I would use its cellular modem about once a month if that, and it’s simply not worth it. And for reasons best known to themselves, my phone provider doesn’t offer tethering as an option on any contract I would be remotely interested in.